top of page

From One Adventure to Another

So guys, it's been one adventurous summer.. Summer ended for Blake and me two weeks ago, and I'm just now getting into the mindset that the school year has begun! Since Blake's a history teacher and I'm a photographer and staff in a college ministry, we're always on a school schedule, which has proven to be quite fun since he has three months off for summer! We've been all over the Southwest.

photo creds to Rachel Autumn Photography

But first, my sister moved from her six-and-a-half year-long relationship with Pete to a new chapter, marriage! I was blessed to be her maid of honor. It was such a special and exciting time for me (as well as her of course). We got our hair done, took tons of pictures, walked down the aisle anticipating her entrance, witnessed their vows before God to remain faithful and true to one another, danced the evening away like any crazy sister would, and ended the night at my parents with family and friends enjoying some delicious BBQ! I still think about the fact that they are finally married, and how it feels like yesterday when my sister, mom, and I went into Brookshire Brothers and met Pete for the first time (but that's a whole nuther story). Pete was always like an older brother to me, and my sister, well, an older sister. After I got super involved in InterVarsity at SFASU and got married after I graduated, I didn't have as much time to spend with them anymore. So I'm hoping to have many double-married-couple-dates and start new adventures together soon!

At the beginning of July, Blake and I went to Beavers Bend State Park in Oklahoma with Blake's family. We had a blast hiking down Mountain Fork River, kayaking and (attempting) to canoe. I also

went water tubing for the first time in my life! I was so nervous at first and even talked about not doing it (which my husband so understandingly supported). BUT, as I always seem to do, if I feel too nervous to do it, I always end up being the FIRST to do it! I went with one of my dear friends, Roni, who freaks out as much as me... and is just as adventurous as me! So yeah. That was a thing. One that I would do again if we were on a boat that had been locked to a certain speed for safety purposes.

Anyways. It was a blast! After that, Blake and I drove all the way to Arizona, in mid-July. We had been wanting to see the Grand Canyon and Carlsbad Caverns, for a while now. My great aunt and uncle who live in Arizona, came to Sarah's wedding and the BBQ afterwards. We had mentioned we were wanting to go on a road trip. They said, "Come driving up our way and stay with us!" And so we did. That weeklong trip has been one of the best in my life. So much happened, I don't have time to tell you in this post, but let's just say Blake and I have grown so much in our love for each other, in our love and joy in God, and in our thankfulness for family and God's amazing, glorious creation! We had adventures, arguments, love, stress, laughter, gifts, breathtaking landscapes, dangerous cliffs... as well as a beautiful family I never really knew until now. Aunt Granny Gail and Uncle Robert are just super awesome. I used to see them in Nebraska rarely with my mom when I was young, and they lived in Texas when I was really young (which I don't remember). But Blake and I both really enjoyed conversation, learning about them and my mom's side of the family, seeing the joy they had in the simple things of life, and experienced a joyful peace we had not felt in a while. We are forever grateful for this experience!

Carlsbad Caverns was our first stop. We got there and I got really sick at the hotel. I fought through it to go to the caverns anyways, but we go there and I felt awful. So we went back. I slept a couple hours. Then I decided to go back to attempt to see the bats fly out in the evening. I was gonna make it, darn it! I got through it despite the way I felt, and the experience was so worth it. Then, after a night

at a semi-sketchy inn, we explored the absolutely astounding Carlsbad Caverns. Then we drove up to the Guadalupe Mountains, then across the barren desert to Arizona. The only life through southern New Mexico are the dust devils whirling around everywhere. But when we found a random Starbucks in the middle of this nothingness, we gained a little confidence. We finally made it to

Arizona and saw that the Saguaro Forest National Park was nearby, so of course we had to stop. We got there in the evening so we climbed up one of the rocks at Javelina's Peak and watched the sunrise surrounded by saguaros, prickly pears, and many other cactus life. We then finally made it to our family's house, in a little retired community called Surprise. They welcomed us with hugs and smiles, and we hit the sack. What a trip already, and it was only the second day!

I would love to go in-depth of what all we saw and how we felt during our experiences with God and nature, but I think I will end it here. I'll give you a few pictures to help you understand (even though you can only fully experience it by being amongst this beauty). I'll give you an update on the rest of our trip(s) soon. For now, enjoy the photos below, and please comment if you have any questions or comments!

In Christ, Anna

SaveSaveSave

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page